Banished From God’s Presence

Today’s reading comes from 2 Kings 24-25; 2 Chronicles 36:1-21; and Jeremiah 52.  Here’s what I journaled –

Scripture –
Jeremiah 52:3 – These things happened because of the Lord’s anger against the people of Jerusalem and Judah, until he finally banished them from his presence and sent them into exile.

Observation –
These 3 readings all tell the same story.  The kings in the last days of Judah’s existence were evil.  They led their people away from God.  They were leading the people straight into the exile and judgment that Jeremiah kept warning them about.  They were defeated and taken as prisoners into Babylon.  As bad as all of that is – the part that stands out to me is found in our verse today.  It says, “he… banished them from his presence…”  The worst part in all of this is that the nation of Judah was sent out and away from the presence of God.

Application –
Punishment and consequences for sin is bad.  But, it doesn’t even compare to the idea of being banished from the presence of God.  I don’t want to experience that.  I want to be in God’s presence constantly.

Prayer –
God, Help me to live for You.  I don’t want to be banished from Your presence.  I want to be with You at all times.  Teach me how to follow You so that I can avoid being banished from Your presence.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Jeremiah

Leave a comment