Do Whatever He Tells You

Scripture – John 2:5
“Do whatever He tells you.”

Observation –
John 2 is a very interesting chapter to say the least. It describes a miracle of Jesus’ at a wedding feast in Cana of Galilee. According to John, this was “the first of His (Jesus’) signs” that He did. You’re probably assuming that the bride must have fainted and Jesus came in, caught her before she hit the ground, and saved the day. Or maybe somebody got sick at the reception and Jesus healed them on the spot? No – for Jesus’ first miracle He turned water into wine. I would have presumed Jesus’ miracle would have been something a bit more important and high profile. (Unless you really like your wine and then you might be pretty impressed and now you’re wondering what Jesus is doing on the day of your wedding.) Any way – here’s how this miracle came about. While we don’t know many of the details of the wedding, we do know that Jesus, His mother Mary, and His disciples were there. The wine ran out and Mary caught Jesus’ attention to tell Him of this sad news. Jesus’ response is intriguing. He says, “Woman, what does this have to do with me? My hour has not yet come.” This doesn’t sound like Jesus is very enthused at the thought of performing a miracle at this time. Yet, his mother continues to persist, commanding the servants to “Do whatever He tells you.” At this time, Jesus began to bark out orders. He tells the servants to get some containers (that would hold over 150 total gallons of liquid) and put water in them. Then they were to draw some of the “water” and take it to the master of the feast. At this point it is revealed that the water has been turned into wine, and not just any old wine, but the best wine that had been served at the party. We could take a long time trying to unpack everything that took place, why it took place, and why it matters. But, that’s not what caught my attention. What did is the simple, but profound sentence that says, “Do whatever He tells you.” They did that and the rest is “history.” Because they obeyed Him they saw a miracle that day. My question is, do you and I take this same advice to heart? Do we “do whatever He tells (us)”?

Application –
I’m a pastor. You would think that I would be quick to jump at every opportunity to do all that Jesus tells me to do. But, can I share a little (and sad) secret? I don’t. All too often I’m too busy doing things my way that I don’t have time to listen to Jesus. And many times I’m doing “church stuff” at the time. I’m so busy trying to do my job that I don’t take the time to listen to Jesus and what He tells me to do. Likewise, it can happen in my relationships at home. Jesus is trying to tell me to do something and I’m too focused on myself instead of listening to and obeying Him. But, this year I’m making a concerted effort to see a change here. This is the year that I’m striving to “do whatever He tells me to do.” I so want to see a miracle (although I’m not interested in a water to wine type miracle). I’m ready to see the miracle of my obedience to Jesus in all aspects of my life. And in that moment I know that I will have the power of the Spirit of God so manifest within me that God will begin to do incredible things in my life, my family’s life, and my church’s life. All because I finally did all that He tells me to do. Won’t you join me?

Prayer –
Dear God, It is my desire to obey You. Teach me to literally do all that you tell me to do. I want to sign my name on the “blank check” of my life. You fill in the blanks. You tell me where to go, what do, and what to say. But, I know it all begins with surrendering my life completely to You. Tomorrow morning when I get up, may I have one thing on my to-do list… doing whatever You tell me. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Leave a comment

Filed under John

Leave a comment