I Declare What Is Truth!

Scripture – Isaiah 45:19
“I the Lord speak the truth; I declare what is right.”

Observation –
In this chapter of Isaiah we see the majesty and glory of God. It describes Him as creator, sovereign – in charge of all things. He is the only Savior. He is Lord and there is no other.  The first part of verse 19 says that He has spoken to His people. He has not kept things hidden. He has spoken through His prophets. Then we find the last part of the verse – “I the Lord speak the truth; I declare what is right.” This is a short sentence, but its teaching is HUGE! God speaks the truth. He declares what is right. In other words, He can be trusted. He does the right thing. He stands for the truth. But, it actually goes deeper than that. He doesn’t just speak the truth and what is right, He determines what is truth and right.

Application –
All too often we act as if it is we who declare what is truth. We have stopped listening to God’s definition of truth. We live as if we are masters of our own fates. We think that we get to declare what is right – leaving in our wake mass confusion and chaos. But we aren’t right, we’re wrong. Now before you presume I’m talking about “them” or society as a whole or those who don’t love God, I’m actually talking about those of us who are followers of Jesus as well. Even though we claim to love God and follow Him, we’re still living as if we have the ability to determine what is true and right for us. It’s time to stop that nonsense. I need to look to God – the one who is truth and right. He alone is the one who has the permission to define truth. Only then will I be headed in the right direction.

Prayer –
God, I want to follow You. For far too long I have lived as if I have the ability to tell You how I’m going to live my life. But, I confess to You that I don’t define truth. You do. And I desire to follow Your truth. Train me up in the things that are right and true. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Isaiah

Leave a comment